Day 6 – A New-to-You Element

This one’s easy for me, because basically all of WordPress is new to me.  I really need to take a decent chunk of time, sans kid-induced distractions, and try to figure things out.  I’m not technologically challenged, but lately I’ve had trouble getting beyond the basics.  While I’ve been typing this, my daughter has repeatedly gotten on top of the kitchen table, and my son keeps asking my why I’m not using any of the numbers.

It was cold here today.  Below freezing.  Kindergarten was cancelled for my oldest and I didn’t want to spend the whole day in front of the TV.  I wanted to do something crafty or sciencey with my kids.  I’m not sure how many people saw this floating around:

Frozen soap bubbles!  So cool!  Only… not for us.  I’m not sure if it was too warm when I finally decided to go out with the kids.  I thought 15 degrees in the shade would still have been cold enough, but apparently I was wrong.  It took ten minutes to get all the kids in coats and hats, and we were outside for only three.  We ended up with cold, wet hands and not a little disappointment.  They did love viewing the images on the computer in the warmth of the kitchen though.

So, TV it became.  I tried to assuage my parental guilt by encouraging them to watch PBS Kids shows (because that’s so much better, right?).  It eventually turned into a Sonic The Hedgehog marathon.  I’m not sure how many other 5 and 3-year-olds in 2014 run around as Sonic and Manic, yelling “back in a sonic second” and calling every meal chili dogs, but that’s what my boys are into lately (thank you Netflix!).

Leave a Reply

